Department of Biological Sciences

The Department of Biological Sciences was established in 2002. The Department has two interdependent programmes when established in 2002 viz; Botany and Zoology programmes respectively. Research facilities and research programmes however frequently cross these programme divisions and there is also an agreed-shared responsibility for student workshop, field trip and research techniques amongst these programmes. The degrees awarded in the Department are therefore B.Sc. (Hons.) Botany and B.Sc. (Hons.) Zoology.

Student Numbers
In the 2002/2003 Academic year, the Department had only one (1) full time student and no postgraduate students. That number has now grown to about 300 students. Also, the Department serves about 250 students from sister Departments.

Postgraduate Programmes of the Department
The Department has mounted academic programmes at the postgraduate level during the 2009/2010 Academic year in the following areas:
i. Postgraduate Diploma (PGD) in Community Health & Hygiene.
ii.Master of Science (Zoology) Parasitology option.

General Philosophy of the Department
The general philosophy of the Academic programmes in Biological Sciences with specific emphasis on Botany and Zoology is ti bring together in an integrated fashion training of qualified candidates with the sole intention that they will acquire good discipline, knowledge and skills with practical exposure in various disciplines in Botany and Zoology. Thus, preparing them for a specialisation career training at the undergraduate and postgraduate level; to be good citizens for National development, enhancing manpower generation particularly at the local governments, State, Federal levels and International. It is hoped that we will succeed in producing experts who will be gainfully employed in all aspects of National development, and to provide foundations for students who plan to pursue specialisations at the M.Sc. or Ph.D in any aspects of Botany and Zoology.

Staff List

Staff List

1 Prof. Muhammad Saquib Academic Professor PhD Plant Ecology
2 Prof. E. A. Gaya Academic Prof PhD Plant Ecology
3 Prof. A. M. Gani Academic Prof. PhD Botany
4 Dr. Inuwa Adamu Academic Snr. Lect. PhD Parasitology
5 Mr. Wakshama  P. Sale Academic Lecturer I M.Sc. Applied Microbiology & Plant Pathology
6 Mr.  Jarafu  Ulam Mamza Academic Lecturer I M.Sc. Ecology
7 Mr. Domo G. Albert Academic Lecturer II M. Sc Parasitology
8 Mr. Joseph Johnson Academic Asst. Lect. M. Tech Wildlife conservation & Management
9 Mrs. Comfort S. Yusuf Academic Asst. Lect. M. Tech. Crop protection
10 Miss. Kucheli Batta Academic Asst. Lect. M.Sc. Mycology & Plant Pathology Mycology
11 Mr. Ali Babangida Daniel Academic Asst. Lect. M.Sc. Mylocology
12 Mr. Mallum S. Midawa Academic Asst. Lect. M. Sc. (Ed.) Botany
13 Mrs. Zainab B. Mshelia Academic Asst. Lect. M. Sc. (Ed.) Zoology
14 Mrs. Abigail Edward Academic Asst. Lect. M.Tech. Fishries and Aquaculture
15 Mal. Ahmad Idi Academic Asst. Lect. M. Sc. Biotechnology
16 Mal. Bashir S. Mienda Academic Asst. Lect. M.Sc. Biotechnology
17 Mr. Joel Filgona Academic Asst. Lect. M. Sc. Microbiology
18 Mr. Alexander J. Wahedi Academic Asst. Lect. M.Sc. Applied Entomology
19 Mr. Barka P. Mshelmbula Academic Grad. Asst. B. Sc. Botany

Laboratory Staff

1 Mr. Dauda  Samaila Boni Non Academic Senior M Technologist I
2 Mrs. Asiyina Elihu Non Academic Senior F Technologist I
3 Mr. Bulus Kwaghe Bugu Non Academic Senior M Technologist I
4 Mr. Ishaya Nehemiah Non Academic Senior M Technical Officer
5 Adama Ismail (Mrs.) Non Academic Senior F Technical Officer
6 Mr. Daniel Lamorde Non Academic Junior M Lab. Technician
7 Mal. Dahiru Yunus Non Academic Senior F Con. Secretary
8 Sakina M. Abubakar Non Academic Junior F Clerical Officer
9 Mal. Atiku Salihu Non Academic Junior M Lab. Technician

Registry Staff

Mrs Robert S. Maryamu Con Sec. II
Miss Talatu Kefas Clerical Asst.